Loss of Smell, Aromatherapy and Chakras.

Something exciting is happening in my practice, and I would like to share with you, my followers.

I trained as an aromatherapist 20 years ago, but after qualifying as a McTimoney Chiropractor I slowed down on how much aromatherapy I did. Over these past few months I have begun to explore the oils uses again, and yesterday I had a fascinating result that I would love to share.

I had a stand at a Holistic Fair in Troon, a town about 10 miles away from my clinic. I had on my stand one of my proto-col ambassadors doing hand massages with the wonderful aromatic Dead Sea Salt handscrubs. Now these smell absolutely devine, but 1 lady said that she couldn’t chose which one to use based on smell, as she has lost that sense 15 years ago, after a period of chronic sinusitis. Following her hand massage, which she did enjoy as it is very  tactile, and leaves the skin feeling silky smooth from the exfoliating properties of the Dead Sea Salt,  she came over to talk to me, as my darling husband had said that the very first Chiropractic adjustment was for deafness, nothing whatsoever to do with a bad back and that perhaps I could help her regain her sense of smell!

Well I performed a spinal check on her, and couldn’t find an awful lot wrong with her spine, but I did find that her lacrimal bones were way out of alignment, so much so that I thought that they could be pressing on her olfactory nerve. You can see from this picture just how close the olfactory nerve bulb is to the eyes and sinus’. olfactory nerveI gave her several pungent oils to smell, and she had a feint scent of Eucalyptus, an oil that is highly penetrating, but she could not smell Rosemary or May Chang, 2 oils which are sharp and penetrating, but less than  Eucalyptus. I performed an adjustment on the lacrimal bones whilst she was there, and she said that she felt a tingling in her nose. Her sense of smell did not alter though.

Then I checked her chakras, and lo and behold her 6th chakra, the brow or third eye, was blocked. I did some work on that, and then applied some Rosemary to the chakra. Guess what? She had a feint aroma of something, which she thought was eucalyptus, but was in actual fact Rosemary. Interestingly enough she then had a closed throat chakra, which I then worked on, so that she left me with a complete set of open chakras. I suggested that she book in to have a facial massage, so that I can work on the sinus points and help them to drain.

I am doing lots of reading about the use of aromatherapy and chakras, and hope to be able to write more experiences up like this, as and when they happen.

Each chakra has several essential oils which are associated with them, and Rosemary is an oil associated with the 6th chakra.

I will follow this blog up about Rosemary being my “Oil of the Day” tomorrow, and also write up the oils that are associated with each of the chakras, so that you can try them out for yourself, and see if you can balance a recurrent blocking chakra.

Do you have a question, about this or any oterh blog that I have written. Please let me know, as this is how my blogging develops. I do not have a set agenda, it just evolves around my experiences and your questions or observations.

Namaste Joy

5 thoughts on “Loss of Smell, Aromatherapy and Chakras.

  1. That sounds amazing! I suffer from
    Very bad sinus blockage from time to time. Would you mind explaining a little about chakras? Are these reiki? Or is this part of a general massage treatment? So interesting!

  2. Thank you for asking about Chakras. They are “energy centres” on the body, the main ones being along the spine. I know little about Reiki, but my understanding is it is done to you, whilst chakra work you can do yourself. I am sure when you receive Reiki, the therapist is able to feel them, so they will Reiki them to balance the energy out. Is anybody reading this who does Reiki and can explain more please?
    Have you heard of “auras”? The physical body has several “layers” around it, which are different energy fields. If you are completely new to this thought, then there is an exercise that you can do to start to feel it. Bring you 2 hands together, in the attitude of prayer. The take them about 3 inches apart. Very very slowly bring them towards each other again, and see if you feel anything? Let me know! 😉
    I will write my next blog on Chakras for you, in the next day or so. Here’s a post from some weeks back, which probably doesn’t explain much, but does show you where they are located.
    https://joyofhealthbeautyandnutrition.wordpress.com/2014/08/06/chakras-on-the-spine/
    Namaste Joy

  3. I have heard of these Chakra’s before, but I’ll admit I am sceptical, but it is something that I want to believe (if that makes any sense?). Pity your all the way up in Scotland, I don’t think I could be further from you lol.

    • Thank you for asking about Chakras. They are “energy centres” on the body, the main ones being along the spine. I know little about Reiki, but my understanding is it is done to you, whilst chakra work you can do yourself. I am sure when you receive Reiki, the therapist is able to feel them, so they will Reiki them to balance the energy out. Is anybody reading this who does Reiki and can explain more please?
      Have you heard of “auras”? The physical body has several “layers” around it, which are different energy fields. If you are completely new to this thought, then there is an exercise that you can do to start to feel it. Bring you 2 hands together, in the attitude of prayer. The take them about 3 inches apart. Very very slowly bring them towards each other again, and see if you feel anything? Let me know! 😉

      • I have heard of aura’s. Again I am sceptical but am wanting to be more open. I have a friend who has an interest in quantum physics and I think he mentioned auras and energy fields etc

        I’ll experiment with what you said. Although I’ll wait till I get home, it may look a little odd on the train haha.

Leave a Reply

