Night Night Sleep Tight

 

Did you know that the “Sleep Tight” in the bedtime rhyme is said to  refer to the ropes that were pulled tight, to ensure the support for the mattress was there by taut ropes, to ensure a good nights sleep.  I frequently get asked, in my role as a Chiropractor, for my advice on beds, or more specifically mattresses. Which is the right mattress to buy? Does it need to be an orthopaedic mattress? They tell me that they have spent a fortune on beds that bend, twist shake, rattle and roll, because the glossy brochures promised them a good nights sleep, but still they can’t sleep or wake up in the morning, or 2 or 3 or 4 am because of discomfort. So in view of the fact that March is National Bed Month, here’s my view on it.

Buying a bed or mattress is not an exact science! Why? Because we are all different, different shapes, body builds, some have more curves than others…….you get the general idea.

So if you are thinking about investing in a new mattress, my advice is to go to a shop where you can try them out. And I mean really try them out. Lie down on them……..for 20 minutes or so. Any mattress may feel comfortable, for the 10 seconds that most people lie down on them for, in a bed shop. But, if like most people, you plan on spending HOURS at a time on it, then 10 seconds is not long enough.

When my husband and I got married, we bought new bedroom furniture. I took a book into the shop and sat up on the bed and read. I took my own pillow in and lay down for a while too. The salesman kept coming over and asking if I needed any help, my husband was embarassed. But we ended up with a mattress that is the most comfortable mattress I have ever slept on, bar the one in a hotel in Iceland.

I also recommend that when you try the beds out, you take your own pillows with you. Now this again may seem rather strange, but I was amazed at the difference in made to trying out the mattress. Different pillows made the support feel different in the same mattress. Which probably says more about the role of being aligned correctly, than it does about the mattress. Because no matter how much you spend on a bed, or mattress, it is only going to support you in the alignment that the body is in. If you are out of alingment and have a very supportive mattress, you may actually find it too uncomfortable.mattresses

Curvy people, with boobs and hips, may find it more comfortable to lie on a softer mattress than those with flatter straighter bodies. I often recommend to people who find their mattress too hard, to try putting a quilt or duvet for padding and see if that is more comfortable, before spending money on a mattress. If you sleep with a.n.other person, this trick will often work well as you the 2 individuals often prefer different support from a mattress.

My final piece of advice! Before going out and spending a lot of money on a new bed or mattress, it is worth getting your alignment checked out by someone in your area.

Night night sleep tight, don’t let the bed bugs bite. (and if they are take a look at yesterday’s post on ti-tree) x

 

 

Leave a Reply

