U is for Unction

Unction is a word we don’t hear much isn’t it? The dictionary definitions are :

1. The act of anointing as part of a religious, ceremonial, or healing ritual.
2. An ointment or oil; a salve.
3. Something that serves to soothe; a balm.
Aromatherapy oils can serve all 3 definitions, so to follow on from yesterdays SacredSpaces I have chosen to look at the Act of Anointing:

In Exodus 30 in the Old Testament, we read of the Anointing Oil composed of myrrh, cinnamon, calamus (that’s a new 1 on me) and cassia, diluted in olive oil. Now I believe olive oil was used because this was plentiful in the Holy Land. If it had been another country, then I believe Sweet Almond Oil may have been used, or grapeseed oil, whichever was grown locally. This oil was used for the anointing of the tabernacle and the priests and High Priests, to make them most holy.

We also read of the Incense which was composed of “fragrant spices, frankincense, gum resins galbanum and something referred to as onycha, which seems to be a debatable substance, as to what it really is. There are references to a sea mollusc, but I seriously don’t think that it is derived from an animal, if it is, it would be one of the very few essential oils to be obtained from an animal. There is a gland of an animal that produces musk, but that is the only 1 that I can think of. My money would be on it being Labdanum, which is obtained from the rock rose. It sounds much more of a likely candidate than a sea snail.

Queen Elizabeth II of Great Britain went through an Anointment at her Coronation discussed in this clip here:

In R is for……. I talked about Rainbow Valley, an intention of my lovely friend Lindsay, who has a vision to create a sanctuary where people can go to be in control when dealing with a diagnosis of cancer. I am going to invest in some of these oils mentioned here and experiment with the effects that they have on me, before considering using them on others.

I am so glad that I have taken part in this AtoZChallenge, it has taken me out of my comfort zone, and led me to expand my knowledge of aromatherapy and I am soon going to be making some more smelly friends. I hope I have encouraged some of you to make new smelly friends too.

Blessings Joy

 

Leave a Reply

